KAER 18-21 Gun Fingerprint Safe Review: Big Rifle Cabinet

KAER 18-21 Fingerprint Safe – FindsCheaper

The KAER 18-21 Gun Fingerprint Safe is a large floor-standing cabinet built for people with a real collection of rifles and shotguns, with fingerprint, keypad and key access plus an alarm. It suits a garage, den or spare room where a 93-pound steel cabinet can be bolted down. It is a poor fit for a small apartment, for anyone who wants a fire rating, or for a buyer who wants a long owner track record, since none is listed and the product is new.

Bottom line:

  • Best for: a roomy, modular rifle cabinet with dual-row racks and fingerprint access, when you have the floor space and a way to anchor it.
  • Watch out: assembly is required, no fire rating is listed, and the listing’s included-components line differs from the bullets.
  • Verify before buying: the real rack count for scoped rifles, what actually ships in the box, and the current price.

This review uses the Amazon listing, seller bullets and brand description. We have not assembled or handled the cabinet, and no owner-feedback summary was available, so we do not invent themes. If your budget is the main constraint, our guides to the best gun safes under $500 and the best gun safes under $1,000 show how the price tiers compare, and the best gun safes pillar covers the basics.

KAER 18-21 Gun Fingerprint Safe specs at a glance

Spec Listing says
Dimensions 17.72″ D x 22.83″ W x 53.15″ H
Lock types Biometric, electronic combination, key
Capacity 11 cubic feet
Material Alloy steel; 14-gauge door and 16-gauge body per seller
Features Alarm system, fingerprint, silent mode, door organizer
Mounting Floor mount
Weight 93 pounds
Assembly Required
Fire rating None listed

The title and bullets say 18 to 21 guns. Be realistic about that: a rack count like this typically assumes slim, unscoped long guns. The seller’s own detail says the left compartment holds 14 rifles and shotguns without scopes, so scoped rifles will reduce the real number. Read the full bullets and look at the listing images for the layout before you count on 21.

Access and lock

Three methods are listed: fingerprint, digital keypad and spare emergency keys. The seller claims a recognition accuracy of 99.8% and an unlock time of about one second. Those are manufacturer figures, not independent measurements, so treat them as marketing. What matters for a home is how reliably the reader accepts your finger on the first try, which only owner feedback can show.

The listing also says an external emergency power box is included, which is intended to solve lockout when the internal batteries die. That is a useful feature on a tall cabinet that you cannot easily open to swap cells. Note, though, that the included-components line in the spec table lists only a key, so confirm with the seller what ships in the box, including the power box and anchor bolts. Practice using the emergency box before you need it, and store the key elsewhere in the home, not on the cabinet.

Build and security features

According to the seller, the door is 14-gauge steel and the body is 16-gauge, with four locking bolts described as 1.5 inches thick and a heavy-duty door. Four expansion bolts are mentioned for anchoring to the floor. These are manufacturer claims; the listing offers no independent security rating or fire rating. At 93 pounds, the cabinet is heavy enough to be harder to carry off than a lightweight unit, but it is still a cabinet, not a heavy-gauge vault, so think of it as a strong deterrent against children, casual burglars and quick theft.

The alarm and a silent/alarm option appear in the listing’s feature list. Find out in the manual how the alarm is triggered, how to silence it, and whether you want it enabled in a house with curious kids or pets.

Interior and fit

The listing describes removable front and rear dual-row rifle racks, with four racks in total, plus five movable shelves. That modular layout lets you rearrange the interior around the actual lengths and shapes of your guns. The door has a handgun pouch and a document pouch, which uses vertical door space for small items without occupying the main interior.

The outer height is 53.15 inches, so long barrels and tall optics are a tighter fit than the capacity suggests. Measure your longest firearm, with the optic and any muzzle attachment, against the interior height, which the listing does not state. Also think about width: a scoped AR-style rifle can be wide at the receiver, and two rows of them side by side fill the space quickly. If the interior numbers matter to you, ask the seller before ordering.

Mounting and placement

The spec sheet says floor mount, and the seller mentions expansion bolts for anchoring to the floor. Anchoring matters for a tall cabinet that holds heavy rifles, since an unanchored one can tip, and it also resists simple removal. Concrete floors are ideal. If you are on a wood subfloor, use appropriate lag fasteners and avoid anchoring into thin spots; check for pipes and wiring first.

Because assembly is required, plan the room too. A cabinet that is 22.83 inches wide and 17.72 inches deep needs clear space for the door to swing, and a garage with humidity swings may not be ideal for steel and optics. A bedroom closet or a dry den is a better location.

Power and batteries

The fingerprint reader, keypad, lights and alarm need power. The listing does not state the internal battery type or count. The external emergency power box and the physical key are your two fallbacks. Read the manual for how to replace batteries and keep spares outside the safe.

What owners say

No owner-feedback summary was available, and the listing has few reviews so far, so we do not offer themes. When you read the reviews and Q&A yourself, look for: how hard assembly was and how long it took, how well the racks hold scoped rifles, how the fingerprint reader behaves with dry or damp fingers, how loud the alarm is, whether the door aligns after assembly and what happened when parts were missing or damaged. We could not match either supplied video confidently to this exact model, one title mentions a price and another is generic, so we do not embed one here.

Who should buy it, and who should wait

Buy it if you own a real collection, have a dry room with a solid floor and want an interior you can reconfigure as your guns change. The dual-row racks, movable shelves and door pouches give flexibility that a slim cabinet cannot, and the listed emergency power box is a thoughtful touch for a tall unit. Wait if you live somewhere cramped, if you are renting and cannot bolt anything down, or if you want a fire rating, because none is listed here.

Before ordering, work through a short checklist: count your firearms and note which are scoped, measure the tallest one, confirm what is in the box (the power box and anchor bolts in particular), plan where you will assemble it and who will help, and check the return window. If an answer is unclear, ask the seller on the listing. And since assembly is part of the experience, read the manual first so you know which parts are shipped separately.

Pros and cons

  • Pros: large modular interior, dual-row racks, fingerprint, keypad and key access, external emergency power box per the seller, door pouches, anchoring bolts mentioned.
  • Cons: assembly required, no fire rating listed, rack count drops with scoped rifles, listing details conflict on what is included, limited owner feedback.

How it compares

If you would rather hide the guns in a wall, the SnapSafe In-Wall Long Gun Safe review covers a recessed unit with a stated interior size and an electronic keypad with key backup.

If you want something slimmer and smaller than this cabinet, the KAER 5-6 Gun Quick Access Safe review looks at a pre-assembled cabinet with a drawer and an emergency power box.

For bedside handgun access instead, the Vaultek DS2i Smart Station review covers a Wi-Fi-enabled drawer safe with a wireless charging pad. Explore more in the gun safe reviews A to Z index.

Price and deals

At the time of writing, it sat in the $300 to $500 range. Prices change, so check today’s price on Amazon. Our KAER 18-21 Gun Fingerprint Safe promo code page explains what we found on coupons and sale timing, including Prime Big Deal Days. Check the return policy, because a 93-pound item is costly to send back once assembled.

A safe-storage reminder

A large cabinet is only one part of responsible storage. Child-access-prevention and storage laws vary by state, so check yours, and keep keys and codes away from children.

Final verdict

The KAER 18-21 Gun Fingerprint Safe is a sensible look for owners who want a large, modular cabinet with fingerprint access and a backup power box, and who have the space and the tools to assemble and anchor it. Its biggest unknowns are the real capacity with scoped rifles, the conflicting included-components details and the lack of a fire rating. Verify those, measure your tallest gun, and read recent reviews before buying.

KAER 18-21 Gun Fingerprint Safe FAQ

How many guns does the KAER 18-21 safe really hold?

The title says 18 to 21, and the seller says the left compartment holds 14 unscoped rifles and shotguns. Scoped rifles take more room, so count your own firearms and check the listing images.

Does the KAER 18-21 safe need assembly?

Yes, the first seller bullet says assembly is required. Plan for a second person, check the room for door swing, and confirm what hardware and anchoring bolts ship in the box.

What if the KAER safe’s batteries die?

The seller says an external emergency power box is included and the listing also names emergency keys. The spec table lists only a key, so confirm with the seller what ships before relying on it.

How should the KAER 18-21 safe be mounted?

It is listed as floor mount, and the seller mentions expansion bolts for anchoring. Anchoring to concrete is ideal. Check for pipes and wiring first and use suitable fasteners on wood floors.

Is the KAER 18-21 safe fire rated?

No fire rating appears in the specs or seller bullets we reviewed, so do not assume fire protection. If that matters for your storage, look for a safe with a documented rating.

FindsCheaper is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *