Best Gun Safe of 2026: 12 Picks for Home, Car and Long Guns
The best gun safe for most homes is the one that matches what you actually store and how fast you need to reach it. For a single handgun kept close at hand, our top pick is the Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID, which opens with a tap of a wristband, key fob or sticker, carries a 14-gauge steel housing and is listed as a California DOJ approved firearms safety device. If you would rather never think about batteries, the Fort Knox PB1 Pistol Box pairs a 10-gauge steel body with a purely mechanical Simplex push-button lock.
If you are protecting a full collection of rifles, shotguns and documents, the Kodiak KBX5629 is the full-size pick: a 390-pound cabinet with a UL Listed electronic lock and a listed 30-minute fire rating. Everything below is organized by need, from nightstand boxes and car cases to long gun cabinets, so you can jump to the type of safe that fits your home.
Quick picks
- Best overall for most homes: Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID
- Best no-battery handgun safe: Fort Knox PB1 Pistol Box
- Best full-size safe for a collection: Kodiak KBX5629 42-Gun Safe
- Best nightstand safe: Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard
- Best roomy handgun vault: Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault
- Best value long gun cabinet: BBRKIN 5-6 Gun Rifle Safe
- Best biometric long gun safe: Barska Biometric Rifle Safe
- Best closet or behind-door rifle case: V-Line Quick Access Long Gun Safe
- Best biometric travel case: Vaultek LifePod 20 Biometric
- Best weather-resistant case: Vaultek LifePod 20
- Best battery-free portable box: StopBox USA
- Best budget wall-mount safe: RPNB Wall-Mounted Pistol Safe
Gun safe comparison table
| Product | Best for | Lock/access | Fits | Mounting/cable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID | Most homes | RFID, key | Most 1911-size pistols, 4-inch revolvers | Security cable included |
| Fort Knox PB1 | No batteries | Simplex push-button | One handgun (check listing) | Check listing |
| Kodiak KBX5629 | Collections | UL Listed electronic | Up to 42 long guns (maker count), 9 pistol pockets | Check listing |
| Hornady Night Guard | Nightstand | RFID, keypad, key | Most full-size handguns | Cable included |
| Hornady Keypad Vault | Larger handguns | RFID, keypad, key | Most full-size handguns | Predrilled for bolting |
| BBRKIN 5-6 Gun | Value long guns | Keypad, backup key | 5-6 long guns up to 50 inches | Pre-punched back and bottom holes |
| Barska Biometric Rifle | Fingerprint long gun | Fingerprint, backup keys | Up to 4 rifles | Hardware included |
| V-Line Long Gun Safe | Closets, doors | Simplex push-button, 2 keyed locks | Most AR-type rifles | Pre-drilled wall or floor holes |
| Vaultek LifePod 20 Biometric | Travel, outdoors | Fingerprint, keypad, keys | Handgun up to 9.25 inches | Steel cable included |
| Vaultek LifePod 20 | Weather-resistant storage | Keypad, keys | Handgun up to 9.25 inches | Steel cable included |
| StopBox USA | Battery-free portable | Mechanical combination | Full-size handgun | Not for wall mounting; padlock or cable compatible |
| RPNB Wall-Mounted | Under $100 | Keypad | Small handgun (check listing) | Right, left or top mount |
How we chose
We did not lab-test these safes. Our research team compared Amazon listings, product specifications, seller bullets and manufacturer documentation for safes in every major category: handgun boxes, nightstand units, portable cases, long gun cabinets and full-size safes. We looked for clearly stated steel gauge or material, a stated interior size, at least one non-electronic backup for electronic locks, a realistic way to anchor the safe, and evidence of an established brand with support channels.
We also screened every brand against recall information. Several biometric gun safes from Awesafe, Bulldog (biometric models), Machir and MouTec were recalled because their fingerprint readers could let unauthorized users, including children, open them, so none of those brands appear here. Our biometric gun safe recall guide explains what to do if you own one. Finally, we balanced the list across price bands so there is a sensible option whether your budget sits under $100 or well above $1,000.
1. Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID: Best Overall for Most Homes
The RAPiD Safe RFID earns the top spot because it solves the problem most home buyers have: storing one handgun securely while still reaching it quickly. A tap of the included wristband, key fob or sticker opens the spring-assist lid, and the listing says up to five RFID tags can be programmed. A conventional key lock is the backup, and the unit runs on AC with battery support.
The housing is 14-gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs. Hornady states it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance, it is listed as a California DOJ approved firearms safety device, and the listing says it meets TSA requirements for checked luggage. Interior space is 9 x 7.7 x 2.2 inches, enough for most 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers.
- Pro: touch-free RFID entry with several tag styles
- Pro: 14-gauge steel, cable included, California DOJ listed
- Con: no keypad, so a lost tag means using the key
- Con: shallow interior limits optics and extra magazines
Read our full Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID review for fit details.
2. Fort Knox PB1 Pistol Box: Best No-Battery Handgun Safe
If electronics make you nervous, the Fort Knox PB1 is the heavy-duty answer. It uses a fast-opening Simplex push-button mechanical lock, so there is no battery to die and no scanner to misread. The body is 10-gauge steel, notably thicker than the 14-gauge used by most quick-access boxes here, with a 3/16-inch tamper-resistant wraparound door and a reinforced lock backplate.
A gas strut assists the heavy door, and the box weighs about 22 pounds. Outside it measures roughly 4.25 inches tall (5.25 inches with the buttons and knob) by 12.5 by 10.38 inches. It is California DOJ certified, made in the USA, and the listing mentions a Limited Lifetime Warranty; read those terms on the brand site before you rely on them.
- Pro: 10-gauge steel and a purely mechanical lock
- Pro: gas-strut door opens with one hand
- Con: no rapid-entry RFID or fingerprint option
- Con: interior size and mounting details are thin on the listing
See our Fort Knox PB1 review.
3. Kodiak KBX5629 42-Gun Safe: Best Full-Size Safe for a Collection
For buyers asking what the best gun safe for home storage of an entire collection looks like, the Kodiak KBX5629 by Rhino Metals is the full-size option on this list. It stands 56 inches tall, 29 wide and 22 deep, weighs about 390 pounds, and uses 14-gauge steel with a UL Listed electronic lock, hardened armor plate, anti-pry design and a spring-loaded relocker.
The listing claims 30 minutes of fire protection at up to 1,400 degrees Fahrenheit, with fireboard in the walls, floor, ceiling and door plus an intumescent seal. Kodiak advertises 42-gun capacity, but like most maker counts that assumes slim, unscoped long guns, so plan on fewer. A door organizer with nine pistol pockets, an adjustable shelf and 180-degree external hinges round it out.
- Pro: real full-size capacity with a door organizer
- Pro: listed fire protection and relocker
- Con: 390 pounds needs a plan for delivery and placement
- Con: highest price band here, over $1,000 at writing
Our Kodiak KBX5629 review covers placement.
4. Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard: Best Nightstand Safe
The Night Guard looks like a bedside clock with a tempered glass front, which makes it easy to keep in a bedroom without advertising what it is. It opens three ways: RFID (a wristband and key fob are included), a keypad access code and circular barrel keys. A spring-assist drawer slides out to a padded interior, and AC plus battery power keeps it ready.
It is 14-gauge steel with two hardened locking lugs, measures 3 x 12 x 10.5 inches outside and 2.2 x 9.2 x 6.9 inches inside, and adds two USB-A charging ports. The included 1,500-pound-rated security cable attaches it to a bed frame or other fixed object. At writing its price varied, so check the current listing.
- Pro: three entry methods and discreet clock design
- Pro: USB ports and drawer-style access
- Con: depends on AC power for the clock features
- Con: shallow drawer for larger pistols
More in our Night Guard review and the best nightstand gun safes guide.
5. Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault: Best Roomy Handgun Vault
The Keypad Vault suits people who want Hornady’s RFID speed with more interior room. Inside it measures 10.6 x 7.8 x 3.3 inches, deeper than the other Hornady boxes here, so it fits most full-size handguns with space for a few small valuables. Entry is by RFID, a programmable access code or a mechanical key.
It weighs 15 pounds, uses 14-gauge steel with a thick lid, and has a predrilled housing so you can bolt it to a secure structure with the right fasteners. The listing notes it is not water resistant, so keep it out of damp garages. Tags can be programmed to work across other Hornady safes.
- Pro: most interior room of the handgun boxes here
- Pro: RFID, keypad and key access
- Con: only one wristband tag and one decal included
- Con: not water resistant
See the Keypad Vault review.
6. BBRKIN 5-6 Gun Rifle Safe: Best Value Long Gun Cabinet
The BBRKIN cabinet is a practical entry point if you need to secure several long guns without paying for a full-size safe. The listing says it holds five to six rifles or shotguns up to 50 inches, with or without scopes, and it adds a separate internal lock box for handguns or valuables plus a removable shelf. Outside it measures 57 x 14 x 13 inches in carbon steel.
Access is by keypad PIN or backup key. After three wrong attempts it beeps and locks out the keypad, and a silent mode turns off the tones. Three pre-punched holes in the back and two in the bottom let you anchor it to the wall, floor or both. Steel gauge and fire protection are not stated, so treat it as a theft and child-access barrier only.
- Pro: fits scoped rifles and adds an inner lock box
- Pro: anchoring holes in the back and bottom
- Con: steel thickness not listed
- Con: no fire rating claimed
Read our BBRKIN rifle safe review.
7. Barska Biometric Rifle Safe: Best Biometric Long Gun Safe
Barska brings fingerprint access to a long gun cabinet. The listing says it stores up to 120 fingerprints, holds up to four rifles, and uses a five-point steel locking mechanism. Silent mode keeps entry quiet, backup keys and a battery are mentioned in the product title, and mounting hardware is included.
It is listed as California DOJ approved. Exact dimensions, steel gauge and battery type are not in the item details, so confirm them on the listing before ordering, especially if you own scoped rifles. As with any biometric safe, enroll several fingers and keep the backup keys somewhere a child cannot reach.
- Pro: fingerprint access with large memory
- Pro: five-point locking and California DOJ listed
- Con: dimensions and steel gauge need checking
- Con: four-rifle capacity is modest
Our Barska biometric rifle safe review has more.
8. V-Line Quick Access Long Gun Safe: Best Closet or Behind-Door Rifle Case
The V-Line is a slim 42-inch case in 16-gauge steel, designed for AR-type rifles with accessories and made to mount on a wall, in a closet, behind a door or in the back of an SUV. Its primary lock is a genuine KABA Simplex five-button mechanical lock with 1,081 possible codes, and two additional keyed locks add layers of security.
Front and top opening lets you mount it upright or horizontally, using the pre-drilled quarter-inch holes. Because it uses no electronics, there is nothing to charge. It is assembled in the USA. The trade-off is capacity: plan on one rifle.
- Pro: mechanical quick-access lock, no batteries
- Pro: very flexible mounting
- Con: one-rifle capacity
- Con: few owner reviews so far
Read our V-Line long gun safe review.
9. Vaultek LifePod 20 Biometric: Best Biometric Travel Case
The biometric LifePod 20 is a rugged polymer case rather than a steel box, built for vehicles, camping and travel. It opens with a water-resistant fingerprint scanner, a backlit keypad or two manual keys. An optional anti-picking mode protects the front keyway, and an interior LED and removable tray give two layers of storage.
It runs on a 9V battery the listing says lasts up to a year under normal use, with a hidden micro-USB port for emergency power. Inside it measures 9.625 x 7.25 x 2.125 inches and fits a handgun up to 9.25 inches long. Side latches and a rubber gasket seal out dust and water. A steel cable is included.
- Pro: three access methods and emergency USB power
- Pro: weather-resistant, sealed case
- Con: polymer, not steel
- Con: 9V battery not included
See our LifePod 20 Biometric review.
10. Vaultek LifePod 20: Best Weather-Resistant Case
The standard LifePod 20 shares the biometric model’s shell, tray and LED, but drops the fingerprint reader for a backlit keypad with backup keys. That makes it the lower-cost way into the same weather-resistant, airtight, dustproof design, and Vaultek says it floats. A lid organizer includes an AirTag pocket.
Power comes from a 9V battery with a micro-USB backup port. One note: the listing bullets give interior dimensions of 9.625 x 7.25 x 2.125 inches, while the description lists a smaller figure, so measure your handgun and confirm on the listing.
- Pro: same rugged sealed shell for less
- Pro: AirTag pocket and removable tray
- Con: keypad only, no biometric
- Con: conflicting interior figures on the listing
Read our Vaultek LifePod 20 review.
11. StopBox USA: Best Battery-Free Portable Box
StopBox uses a patented mechanical combination system with 81 user-set combinations, so there are no batteries or scanners to fail. The glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS box weighs 1.8 pounds, and the full-size interior is 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 inches with a small built-in compartment. This listing is a two-pack of full-size boxes.
It is not designed for wall mounting, but it works with padlocks or security cables (sold separately), and the listing calls it TSA compliant. It is made in the USA.
- Pro: mechanical access with no batteries
- Pro: light and easy to move between home and car
- Con: polymer, not steel
- Con: cable not included
More in our StopBox USA review.
12. RPNB Wall-Mounted Pistol Safe: Best Budget Wall-Mount Safe
The RPNB is the budget pick, sitting in the under $100 range at writing. Its slim vertical design mounts from the right, left or top side under a desk, beside a nightstand, on a bookshelf or in a vehicle. A programmable keypad opens a drop-down drawer that presents the handgun ready to grab.
The listing says steel construction but does not state a gauge, interior size, battery type or backup key, so check those details before buying. Treat it as a child-access and casual-theft barrier rather than a heavy security safe.
- Pro: low price and flexible mounting
- Pro: drop-down drawer for fast access
- Con: steel gauge and interior size unlisted
- Con: backup entry not described
See our RPNB wall-mounted safe review.
How to choose the best gun safe for your home
Lock types
RFID (Hornady) is the fastest touch-free method but depends on the tag. Keypads are familiar and need a backup key and fresh batteries. Fingerprint readers are quick when they work and weaker in wet or cold conditions; read are biometric gun safes reliable and our biometric vs keypad comparison. Mechanical push-button locks (Fort Knox, V-Line, StopBox) skip electronics entirely.
Fit and capacity
Measure your firearm with any light or optic attached, then compare it with the interior dimensions, not the exterior. Long gun capacity claims assume slim unscoped guns, so buy a size up. Our gun safe sizing guide walks through it.
Mounting
Bolt the safe down whenever the design allows, or use a security cable for portable boxes. Our guide to bolting down a gun safe covers floors and walls.
Power and backups
Every electronic lock should have a mechanical backup. Note the battery type (9V, AA or AC) and whether there is an emergency power port, and store backup keys away from the safe.
Price tiers
Under $100 buys a basic keypad box. The $100 to $300 bands add thicker steel, RFID and sealed cases. Long gun cabinets start in the $200 to $500 range, and full-size fire-rated safes run past $1,000. Price bands are from the time of writing, so check the current price.
Storage and child-access laws vary by state; check yours.
Guides by need
- Best handgun safes
- Best biometric gun safes
- Best quick access gun safes
- Nightstand safes for bedside access
- Best gun safes under $100
- Best gun safes under $200
- Picks under $300
- Picks under $500
- Best gun safes under $1,000
- Best car gun safes
- Portable safes for travel
- Best small gun safes
- Fire-resistant gun safes
- Best rifle safes
- Gun cabinets
- Hidden gun safes
- Best in-wall gun safes
- RFID gun safes
- Top gun safe brands
- All gun safe reviews A to Z and current gun safe promo codes
Best Gun Safe FAQ
What is the best gun safe for home use?
For one handgun, the Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID is our top pick because it combines touch-free RFID entry, a key backup, 14-gauge steel and an included security cable. If you store several long guns, a cabinet such as the BBRKIN or a full-size safe like the Kodiak KBX5629 makes more sense. Match the interior size to what you own before deciding.
What is the best gun safe for the money?
Value depends on what you store. The Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID and Keypad Vault sat in the $100 to $200 range at the time of writing and offer 14-gauge steel with multiple entry methods. For long guns, the BBRKIN cabinet adds an inner lock box and anchoring holes for a mid-range budget. Always check the current price before buying.
What is a good gun safe for beginners?
Beginners usually do best with a simple handgun box that has a familiar lock and a clear backup. A mechanical push-button safe like the Fort Knox PB1 needs no batteries, while an RFID safe like the Hornady RAPiD Safe is quick to learn. Practice opening it several times, store backup keys away from the safe, and anchor it with bolts or a cable.
Are biometric gun safes safe to buy?
Many are, but quality varies widely. Several biometric safes from Awesafe, Bulldog (biometric models), Machir and MouTec were recalled because their fingerprint readers could let unauthorized users open them. Choose an established brand, enroll several fingers, keep a mechanical backup, and check our biometric gun safe recall guide before you buy or if you already own one of those brands.
Should I bolt down my gun safe?
Yes, whenever the design allows it. An unanchored safe can be carried away and opened elsewhere. Larger cabinets like the BBRKIN have pre-punched holes, and boxes like the Hornady Keypad Vault have a predrilled housing. Portable cases such as the Vaultek LifePod 20 and Hornady RAPiD Safe include a steel cable to loop around a fixed object instead.
Do I need a fireproof gun safe?
Only some safes make fire claims, and the ones on this list mostly do not. The Kodiak KBX5629 lists 30 minutes of protection at up to 1,400 degrees Fahrenheit with fireboard and an intumescent seal. Small handgun boxes are designed for quick access and child resistance rather than fire, so store important papers separately if fire protection matters to you.
FindsCheaper is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.













5 Comments