KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe Review: Slim Cabinet Pick?
The KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe is a tall, narrow cabinet for a small home long-gun collection. It pairs a one-touch fingerprint reader with a 9-digit PIN and two emergency keys, and the seller says it holds four to five rifles with a removable shelf for adjusting the layout. It is a good fit for someone who wants quick, key-free access to a few long guns in a closet or corner and is willing to bolt the cabinet down. If you own more than five long guns, want a published fire or burglary rating, or need a tamper rating you can verify, look at other options. This review is based on the Amazon listing, the seller’s bullets and general safe-storage knowledge, not on owning or handling the cabinet.
Bottom line:
- Best fit: a slim long-gun cabinet with fingerprint, 9-digit PIN and key access, plus anchor bolts and an emergency battery pack in the box.
- Main trade-offs: no fire rating, no steel gauge and no interior height confirmed in the text we saw, and no owner feedback summary was available.
- Price: it sat in the $200 to $300 range at the time of writing, so check the current price.
KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe specs at a glance
| Spec | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Exterior size | 11 in deep x 11.8 in wide x 54.3 in high |
| Interior size | About 11.61 in wide x 8.66 in deep; height is cut off in the bullet, so check the listing |
| Access | One-touch fingerprint, 9-digit PIN, 2 emergency keys, emergency power |
| Capacity | Up to 4 to 5 rifles, with a removable shelf |
| Material | Alloy steel |
| Color | Black |
| In the box | Cabinet, 2 backup keys, 4 anchor bolts, 1 emergency battery pack, instructions |
The listing does not give a weight, a steel gauge, a fire rating or a warranty term in the text we reviewed. Treat the cabinet as a child-resistant and theft-deterrent storage unit, not as a rated vault.
Access and lock
The lock gives you three ways in. The first is the one-touch fingerprint system. The seller pitches it as removing the need to remember a combination or carry a key, which is the main appeal for a cabinet you may need to open quickly. The listing does not say how many fingerprints it can hold, so check the manual (the listing links a user guide PDF) before assuming a number.
The second is a PIN, which the seller says can be up to 9 digits. A longer code is harder to guess, but choose one you can enter smoothly in low light, and avoid birthdays or anything a family member could work out. The third is a pair of emergency keys, which the seller says are meant to be stored outside the safe. That advice is worth following: a key left on top of the cabinet defeats the lock, and a key locked inside is useless if the battery dies.
There is also an emergency power route. The box includes an emergency battery pack so you can power the electronics if the internal batteries run flat. As with the keys, keep it outside the cabinet, somewhere an adult can find it but a child cannot.
Build and security features
The material is alloy steel, and the seller calls the design tamper-resistant and pry-resistant, with bigger deadbolts than the brand’s smaller boxes. These are marketing descriptions, and the listing does not provide a steel gauge or bolt diameter, so we cannot say how it compares with a cabinet that lists specific numbers. Bear in mind that a slim long-gun cabinet’s practical job is to keep children, guests and opportunistic thieves out; it is not meant to resist a prolonged, well-equipped attack.
The most meaningful security upgrade is anchoring. The package includes four anchor bolts, and the seller encourages bolting the cabinet down. A 54-inch cabinet with a narrow footprint can be tipped or carried off if it is left freestanding, so anchor it to a wall stud or concrete floor where you can, using hardware appropriate for your surface. The listed bolts suit a typical install, but if your wall is thin drywall or your floor is raised, ask an installer about better anchors.
Watch: BuzzShelf published a review video of this safe that is helpful for seeing the cabinet’s proportions and door action.

Interior and fit
The interior is roughly 11.6 inches wide and 8.7 inches deep, with the height running most of the cabinet’s 54 inches. That is a narrow slot, and it explains the 4 to 5 rifle claim: long guns stand side by side, so total width is the limiting factor. A removable shelf lets you change the layout, for example putting a shelf in for handguns, magazines or documents and leaving the rest tall for rifles.
Before ordering, measure your longest rifle with any scope, sling and bipod attached, and compare it to the interior height on the listing. Scoped rifles and guns with wide stocks can eat up the width quickly, so four to five is the best case, not a promise. Also check the foam or rack arrangement in the product images, since the text we saw does not describe a barrel rest. If you want a larger interior, the listing for the KAER 13-16 Gun Biometric Safe describes 13 to 16 rifles and a much deeper cabinet.
Mounting and placement
The cabinet stands about 4.5 feet tall on a footprint of roughly 11 by 12 inches, so it fits a closet corner, the side of a wardrobe or a spot beside a bed. Make sure the door can swing fully open, because a narrow cabinet stuffed into a tight corner is awkward to use with rifles standing in it. Choose a dry interior location; garages and sheds invite condensation and rust, and desiccant packs are a good idea in any steel cabinet.
Because it is a tall unit, anchoring should be a priority, especially in a home with children. Storage and child-access-prevention laws vary by state, so check yours, and keep keys and the emergency battery pack away from kids.
Power and batteries
The listing does not state the internal battery type or expected battery life. It does include an emergency power pack for a dead-battery situation. Treat batteries as a scheduled maintenance item: swap them on a regular calendar, keep spares in a separate spot, and recheck both the fingerprint and the PIN afterward. If the cabinet starts to respond sluggishly or beeps oddly, change the batteries first.
The two included keys are the last line of defense, so check that they actually open the lock when it arrives, then store them securely and out of reach of children.
What owners say
No owner feedback summary was available for this model at the time of writing, so we cannot report themes and we will not make any up. When you read the customer reviews and Q&A, look for these points:
- Fingerprint reliability, including whether people mention misreads and how enrollment works.
- How easily rifles with scopes fit, and what the interior height really is.
- Assembly and anchoring: whether the anchor bolts and pre-drilled holes line up.
- Door feel, hinge quality and how the shelf locks into place.
- Battery life and how the emergency power pack connects.
- How the seller handles defective units, missing parts and replacement keys.
Pros and cons
What stands out
- Three entry methods: fingerprint, 9-digit PIN and two emergency keys.
- Emergency battery pack included.
- Four anchor bolts supplied for mounting.
- Slim footprint for closets and corners.
- Removable shelf for custom layouts.
What to weigh
- No fire rating, steel gauge or warranty term in the text we saw.
- Narrow interior limits how many scoped rifles fit.
- Number of storable fingerprints is not stated.
- No owner feedback summary was available to confirm day-to-day reliability.
How it compares
If you do not need the fingerprint reader, the KAER Electronic Long Gun Safe is listed with a keypad, two spare keys, an external power box, 15-gauge steel, 0.8 inch anti-pry bolts, an alarm and a sensor light, in the same $200 to $300 band. It holds 3 to 5 rifles per the seller.
For more rifles, the KAER 13-16 Gun Biometric Safe lists four unlock methods, up to 30 fingerprints and 11 cubic feet of space, though it is far larger and heavier to place.
If you also need a handgun box, the Vaultek 20 Series Biometric review covers a compact option with 16-gauge carbon steel, a steel cable and pre-drilled mounting holes, and the Fort Knox PB1 Pistol Box is a push-button steel pistol box with a 10 gauge body. Neither replaces a long-gun cabinet.
For wider context, read our best rifle safes guide, the best gun cabinets list, our best gun safes under $300 picks, and the main best gun safes page. Every model is indexed on gun safe reviews A to Z.
Price and deals
At the time of writing, the KAER 4-5 sat in the $200 to $300 range. Prices on Amazon change often, so check today’s price on the Amazon listing. For notes on coupons and sale windows, see our KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe promo code page, which does not promise any discount.
Final verdict
The KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe is a reasonable fit for a household with a handful of long guns that wants fingerprint speed, a PIN and key backups in a slim cabinet. The included anchor bolts and emergency battery pack are practical. The gaps are equally clear: no rating, no stated gauge, an interior height that needs confirming and no owner feedback summary to judge long-term reliability. Measure your rifles, confirm the details on the listing, read the newest customer reviews, anchor the cabinet and test every unlock method on arrival. Laws on storage and child access vary by state, so check yours.
If it fits, check the price and details on Amazon.
KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe FAQ
How many rifles does the KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe hold?
The seller says up to four to five rifles, with a removable shelf to adjust the layout. The interior is about 11.6 inches wide and 8.7 inches deep, so scoped rifles and wide stocks may reduce that number. Measure yours first.
What if the battery dies on the KAER 4-5?
The listing says the safe has two emergency keys and an emergency battery pack for power. The seller advises keeping both outside the cabinet. Test the keys when it arrives and store them where children cannot reach.
Does the KAER 4-5 come with mounting hardware?
Yes, the listing says four anchor bolts are included, and the seller recommends bolting the cabinet down. Use anchors suited to your wall or floor material, and check your state’s storage rules.
How many fingerprints can the KAER 4-5 store?
The text we reviewed does not give a fingerprint limit. Check the listing images or the linked user guide PDF before relying on a number, and enroll important fingers more than once.
Is the KAER 4-5 rifle safe fire rated?
The listing does not state a fire rating, steel gauge or warranty term, so we do not claim one. Treat it as a locked cabinet that limits child and casual access, and check the manual for any rating.
FindsCheaper is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

