TOPMEDA Large Biometric Pistol Safe Review: Roomy but Unproven

TOPMEDA Biometric Safe Review – FindsCheaper

The TOPMEDA Large Biometric Pistol Safe is a fingerprint, PIN and key handgun box that leans on size and extras: a big padded interior, an LCD that shows time and battery level, a silent mode, a USB-C emergency power port and a steel cable. It suits someone who owns more than one pistol, or one large pistol with magazines, and wants a bedside or vehicle box without paying much. It is a weaker match if you want a well-documented brand, third-party certification details or a lock with no electronics.

Bottom line:

  • Choose it for a roomy biometric box with PIN and key backups, an LCD battery readout and USB-C emergency power, in the under $100 range at the time of writing.
  • Skip it if you want a fire rating, a long-established safe maker, or fingerprint-free simplicity.
  • Test every access method on arrival and check the current price.

This review relies on the Amazon title and seller bullets, not on personal use of the box, and no owner-feedback summary was available. The long description on the listing includes scraped page text that is not about the product, so we ignore it. Most of the numbers below are the seller’s own claims, and we label them that way. If you are comparing fingerprint boxes, our best biometric gun safes guide gives the wider picture.

TOPMEDA Large Biometric Pistol Safe specs

Item Per the listing
Access Fingerprint (title says 100 sets of fingerprints), PIN, key
Interior Spacious interior measuring up to 12.5 in x 10.5 in; depth not stated in our data
Capacity claim One large handgun, or two standard pistols, or three small pistols, plus magazines and accessories
Interior lining Fully padded, adjustable, anti-scratch
Display LCD showing time and battery life
Power AA batteries, pre-installed; USB-C port for emergency power
Other features Internal light, silent mode, DLC-coated fingerprint sensor glass
Build claim Thickened, hardened steel shell; U-shaped lock; 3mm reinforced steel cable
Weight, steel gauge, fire rating Not listed in the data we reviewed
Price band at writing Under $100 range

Access and lock

The listing says the box opens by fingerprint, PIN or key. The fingerprint reader is advertised with high-resolution scanning and self-learning, and the seller claims one-handed unlocking in 0.1 seconds. That speed figure is the seller’s marketing, and any fingerprint box will vary with a dry finger, a damp finger, a cold morning or a poorly enrolled print. Treat it as a goal, not a promise, and test it yourself.

The title mentions 100 sets of fingerprints. In practice you will enroll a handful: yours, an adult household member, and extra scans of the fingers you would actually use. Enroll each finger several times at slightly different angles and pressures, and repeat the exercise after a week of use. The listing says the sensor surface uses diamond-like coated glass for scratch resistance; that is a durability claim, not an accuracy claim.

The PIN and the key are your fallbacks. Pick a PIN that is not a birthday, and store the key where an authorized adult can reach it but a child cannot. Our guide on biometric gun safes explains why having more than one way in is the key design question.

Build and security features

The seller describes a shell made of thickened, hardened steel, a U-shaped lock said to resist prying with common hand tools, and a patented side design intended to absorb drop impact. No steel gauge, hinge details, or certification is given in the data we reviewed, so we cannot rate those claims. Think of this as a deterrent against children, visitors and quick opportunistic access rather than a rated security container.

Price context matters here. In the under $100 range you are buying a feature-rich box rather than a premium-brand one, and it is reasonable to expect compromises somewhere. No fire or water rating is listed, so do not use it to protect documents. If you want a model with named steel thickness, compare against the Hornady listings, which list 14 and 16 gauge steel, or the V-Line Slide-Away, listed with 12 gauge steel on its Amazon page.

The 3mm reinforced steel cable is a practical add-on. A cable lets you tether the box to a bed frame or other fixed object, and it is a cheap way to make a portable box harder to walk off with. The listing’s wording about mounting continues beyond what we have, so check which mounting hardware actually ships.

Interior and fit

This is the product’s selling point. The seller says the interior measures up to 12.5 by 10.5 inches, a size that is unusually generous for a box in this price range. The claimed capacity is one large handgun, two standard pistols, or three small ones, with magazines and accessories, in a fully padded, adjustable, anti-scratch interior. The word “up to” suggests the largest dimensions are the maximum, so the listing may not describe a uniform rectangle; check the photos.

The data we have does not state the interior height, and height decides what fits in nearly every bedside box. A foam tray that can be rearranged is useful for matching your own gear, but it is less useful if your handgun carries a light or a tall optic. Measure your firearm in its stored configuration, add the magazine you plan to store alongside it, and compare against the listing’s dimension photos. For the other end of the size spectrum, our gun safes under $100 guide shows smaller options.

Mounting and placement

The listing calls it suitable for a bedroom, a nightstand and a car, and mentions a 3mm steel cable and a mounting option. Without the full text, we cannot say what the mounting hardware is, so check the product images and manual. For a home placement, anchor the box with the cable or screws to something solid; for a vehicle, think about temperature swings, since electronics and batteries dislike a hot or freezing car. If you leave it in a vehicle, remove it when you park for long periods, as a sealed car can become hot.

Think too about where an adult can reach the box without fumbling. A scanner that faces you at bedside height is better than one tucked behind a lamp. Child-access-prevention and storage laws vary by state, so check the rules for where you live and where you travel.

Power and batteries

Power is a place where this box has more thought than most. It is sold with AA batteries pre-installed, and the seller says they provide standby power for months. An LCD shows time and battery life, which takes the guesswork out of replacement. If the batteries run flat, an external USB-C port provides emergency power that allows temporary access. That is a smart design, but it only helps if you have a cable and a power source nearby, so keep a short cable and a small power bank in a known place, not inside the box.

Standby life claims are the seller’s. Replace batteries on a schedule rather than waiting for a warning, use quality cells, and test the fingerprint, PIN and key every month or two. A silent mode is listed, so check how it works: a quiet keypad is welcome in a bedroom, but make sure you can still tell when a command has registered.

What owners say

No owner-feedback summary was available for this model, so we are not going to invent themes. Rather than guessing, read the recent customer comments for a few specific points: how often the fingerprint reader recognizes enrolled prints, whether the interior pad can really be rearranged for different handguns, how the lid and latch feel after weeks of use, how the box holds up to being moved, and how people describe the battery readout and the USB-C backup. Patterns across several buyers are more helpful than a single review in either direction.

Video: TOPMEDA demo

Watch: the SCO SHOW Reviews channel posted a review and demo of this TOPMEDA large biometric pistol safe, useful for seeing the size and the opening motion.

My review/demo of this large biometric gun pistol safe from TOPMEDA on Amazon!

Compare what you see with the seller’s capacity claim and with your own handgun.

Pros and cons

  • Pro: Fingerprint, PIN and key give three ways in.
  • Pro: Generous padded, adjustable interior, up to 12.5 by 10.5 inches per the seller.
  • Pro: LCD battery readout, pre-installed AA batteries and a USB-C emergency power port.
  • Pro: Steel cable and a price band under $100 at the time of writing.
  • Con: Interior height, weight and steel gauge are not stated in our data.
  • Con: No fire rating or independent certification listed.
  • Con: Seller speed and durability claims are unverified.
  • Con: Brand reputation is harder to judge from the listing alone.

How it compares

Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard. An RFID box with a clock and USB ports and 14 gauge steel stated, though its main method is RFID tags rather than a fingerprint. See the Night Guard review.

Hornady Lockbox. A key-operated portable box with 16 gauge steel and a lock-down cable, for people who want a simple travel box with no electronics. Read the Hornady Lockbox review.

V-Line Slide-Away. A mechanical push-button drawer case, Made in the USA per its listing, with pick-and-pluck foam. If you want no batteries, see the Slide-Away review.

V-Line Top Draw. Another battery-free option with a top-opening lid; the Top Draw review explains the differences. To compare brands, see best gun safe brands, and for the full set of picks, the main gun safe guide.

Price and deals

At the time of writing the listing sat in the under $100 range. Prices change, so check the current price on the Amazon listing. Our TOPMEDA Large Biometric Pistol Safe promo code page explains clip coupons and sale seasons honestly. You can also browse all gun safe reviews in one place.

Final verdict

The TOPMEDA Large Biometric Pistol Safe makes sense for a buyer who wants space and modern conveniences for little money: a generous interior, three ways in, a visible battery level and a USB-C lifeline. The trade-offs are limited documentation, seller-supplied claims we cannot verify, and no fire rating. Buy it with a plan: enroll your prints thoroughly, test the PIN and key, keep a cable and power bank handy, tether the box, and follow your state’s storage rules. If you want a longer-established maker or a mechanical lock, the alternatives above fit better. Check the current details here.

TOPMEDA Large Biometric Pistol Safe FAQ

How big is the interior of the TOPMEDA large biometric pistol safe?

The seller says the interior measures up to 12.5 by 10.5 inches and claims it holds one large handgun, two standard pistols or three small ones, plus magazines. The data we reviewed gives no interior height, so check the listing photos and measure your handgun.

What batteries does the TOPMEDA safe use?

The title says AA batteries, and the seller says they come pre-installed with standby power for months and an LCD that shows battery life. Standby claims are the seller’s, so replace cells on a schedule and test the box regularly.

What happens if the batteries die?

The listing describes an external USB-C port for emergency power that allows temporary access when the batteries are depleted, and the box can also be opened by key. Keep a cable, a power bank and the key in known places outside the box.

Can the TOPMEDA safe be secured to something?

The seller mentions a 3mm reinforced steel cable and a mounting option, though the text we have is cut off. Check the product images and manual for the hardware shipped, then tether it to something solid at home.

Does the TOPMEDA safe have a silent mode?

Yes, the title and bullets mention a silent mode, along with an internal light. The listing does not explain how to toggle it, so read the manual and make sure you can still confirm that a fingerprint, PIN or key command registered.

FindsCheaper is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *