TRRKO Auto-Open Charging Safe Review: Nightstand Pick?
The TRRKO Auto-Open Charging Safe is a tabletop biometric handgun safe built around one idea: your nightstand should hold the pistol, the phone charger and the wallet in one tidy footprint. If you want a bedside box that slides its drawer open after a fingerprint or keypad entry, and you like the idea of wireless charging on top, it deserves a close look. If you need a safe you can bolt into a wall, or you want a spec sheet with a fire rating and independent certifications, this listing will leave gaps you have to fill yourself. This review is based on the Amazon listing, the seller’s bullets and the product description, because the owner feedback summary was empty when we checked.
Bottom line
- Best for: a bedside setup where fast, quiet, one-hand access and phone charging matter more than a wall-mount option.
- Skip it if: you need an anchored safe, a listed fire rating, or a long track record of owner feedback to lean on.
- Check before buying: the current price, the exact interior size against your handgun, and the warranty terms on the listing.
Specs at a glance
Everything in this table comes straight from the listing. Anything the listing does not state is marked as something to verify.
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Exterior size | 13.18″ deep x 10.44″ wide x 3.54″ high |
| Interior size (seller bullet) | 10.16″ x 8.94″ x 2.11″ |
| Capacity | 191.65 cubic inches |
| Lock type | Biometric, key, touch password |
| Material | High-strength alloy steel with an anti-corrosion coating |
| Weight | 14.2 pounds |
| Mounting | Tabletop, plus a 3.2-ft steel security cable |
| Power | AC power adapter included; battery details not stated, check the listing |
| Extras | Silent mode, brightness adjustment, built-in LED light, dual wireless charging |
| In the box | Safe, two backup keys, security cable, AC adapter, user manual, speed reading cards |
Access and lock
The headline feature is the 0.3-second auto-open claim. According to the seller, you unlock the safe and the drawer slides out horizontally on its own, so there is no lid to lift and no handle to pull. That matters at a nightstand, where you may be reaching from a sitting or lying position in a dark room and one free hand is all you can count on.
There are three ways in. The first is a fingerprint reader. The second is a capacitive touch keypad described as using the digits 1 to 8, which is a smaller set of keys than the usual 0 to 9 pad, so think about how that affects the code you choose. The third is a physical key, and the box includes two backups. The listing says lost keys can be replaced if you send the serial number to the seller, and it describes five years of warranty and lifetime tech support. Treat those as seller claims and read the actual terms on the listing before you rely on them.
The practical point of a biometric safe is that it should never be your only door. Fingerprint readers can struggle with wet, dirty or dry fingers, so learn how the keypad and key fallbacks work on day one, and keep the spare key somewhere that is not in the same room as the safe and not reachable by children. The listing does not say how many fingerprints the safe stores, so confirm that if more than one adult will use it.
Build and security features
The seller describes alloy steel with seamless welding, anti-pry edges and a four-layer protective coating, and the spec list repeats the anti-corrosion and anti-pry language. None of that comes with a gauge, a rating or a third-party certification on the listing, so judge it as a bedside safe designed to keep curious kids and casual intruders out, not as a burglary-rated product. The 14.2-pound weight is useful, but a determined thief could still carry the whole unit away, which is why the included steel cable is worth using.
The 3.2-foot cable is the only anchoring option the listing offers. Looping it around something solid, such as a bed frame member or a heavy furniture leg, makes a grab-and-go theft harder. How secure that is depends on what you attach it to, and the cable is not a substitute for a bolted-down safe.
The silent mode is a thoughtful touch for shared bedrooms. The seller says it turns off the beeps, and that the touch keypad has no mechanical clicks, so a late-night entry should not wake a partner or a light sleeper. A brightness adjustment and a built-in LED light round out the night-use features.
Interior and fit
The seller gives the interior as 10.16″ x 8.94″ x 2.11″ and says it holds two full-size pistols, three magazines and a wallet, with about 30 percent more room than typical small safes. Do the math with your own gear. A 2.11-inch interior height is shallow, so the safe suits slim and mid-width handguns lying flat, but it will not take tall optics, thick extended magazines or a bulky holster. Measure your handgun with any light or optic attached, and measure it again with the magazine inserted.
The manufacturer’s outside dimensions are 13.18″ deep by 10.44″ wide, which is a sizable footprint for a nightstand. Check your table top and drawer depth. The safe is only 3.54 inches tall, so it also lines up with a shelf or drawer, but the charging surface on top means you probably want it on an open surface rather than shut away inside a drawer.
Foam or a soft lining is not described in the item facts, so ask yourself how you will protect the finish of your handgun and whether the interior has any padding. The listing is the place to confirm that.
Mounting and placement
This is a tabletop safe. There is no mention of pre-drilled holes or a bolt-down kit, so the cable is the extra layer of security. Place it where you can reach it from bed without stretching, where an adult can use it in the dark, and where a child cannot get at the keys. Laws on child access and firearm storage vary by state, so check yours before you decide where and how to store a handgun at home.
Because the drawer slides horizontally, leave clearance in front of the safe. A nightstand that sits against a wall or has a lamp parked close in front will stop the drawer from opening fully.
Power and charging
An AC power adapter is in the box, and the product is described as offering dual 15W wireless charging with USB output. That means the safe is most useful when plugged in, and the cord has to reach an outlet near your bed. The listing does not spell out whether the lock runs from batteries when the adapter is unplugged, how long a backup lasts, or what happens to the fingerprint reader during a power cut. These are the questions to resolve in the manual or by messaging the seller before you count on it as a standby option. The two backup keys exist for exactly that situation.
Wireless charging also deserves a reality check. Phone cases with metal plates, thick wallet cases or magnet rings can reduce charging or stop it. The seller does not publish compatibility details in the facts we have, so look for them on the listing.
Wireless chargers generate some warmth during use, and a safe is a closed box. If you plan to charge a device while it sits on top, keep the top surface clear of papers and cloth.
What owners say
No owner feedback summary was available when we wrote this, and the listing is shown as having few reviews so far. We are not going to invent themes. Instead, here is what to look for when you read customer feedback on the listing yourself:
- Whether the drawer opens reliably every time, including on a slightly uneven nightstand.
- How owners describe fingerprint accuracy with dry or cold hands, and how many prints they could enroll.
- Reports about the wireless charging working with their phone and case.
- Comments on the interior height and whether their specific handgun and magazine fit.
- Any mention of the keypad, key fallback, or support responses from the seller.
A video from the channel Reviews By Marshall covers a TRRKO biometric handgun safe with auto-open and wireless charging. Confirm that the model on screen matches this listing before you rely on what it shows.
Watch: the walkthrough from Reviews By Marshall.

Pros and cons
What stands out
- Auto-open drawer that removes the lid-lifting step.
- Three entry methods: fingerprint, touch keypad and key.
- Silent mode and adjustable brightness for night use.
- Dual wireless charging turns the top into a charging station.
- Steel security cable and backup keys are in the box.
Trade-offs
- Shallow 2.11-inch interior height.
- Tabletop only, with no wall or floor mounting described.
- No fire rating or third-party certification listed.
- Battery or backup power details are not given, so it depends on the adapter and keys.
How it compares
The Vaultek LifePod 20 review covers a polymer, portable case with a backlit keypad and backup keys. It is a better fit if you want a case you can carry between the house and the car, while the TRRKO is the one to pick for a fixed bedside spot with charging.
The Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID is another quick-access bedside option, using an RFID wristband, key fob or sticker plus a key. It swaps fingerprints and auto-open for tag-based entry and a spring-assist lid, and the listing describes 14 gauge steel construction.
If you prefer no electronics at all, the StopBox USA review explains a mechanical combination lock box with no batteries. It is portable, light and plastic-bodied, so it trades security for simplicity. For a larger, keypad-and-RFID vault you can bolt down, see the Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault review.
For a wider comparison, our best gun safes guide ranks the picks by need, and the gun safe reviews A to Z page lists every model we have covered.
Price and deals
At the time of writing the TRRKO sat in the $100 to $200 range. Prices on Amazon move, so check the current price on the Amazon listing before you decide. We have a separate page on whether any TRRKO Auto-Open Charging Safe promo code or coupon exists, and it explains seasonal sale windows and how to watch for price drops.
Final verdict
The TRRKO Auto-Open Charging Safe is a convenience-first nightstand safe. The fast auto-open drawer, the quiet operation and the charging surface are the reasons to choose it, and they are real, practical advantages if your use case is a bedside drawer you will reach for in the dark. The limits are just as clear: shallow interior, tabletop-only mounting, no listed fire rating, and sparse feedback so far. Measure your handgun, read the warranty terms, confirm the backup power behavior, and compare it with one of the alternatives above before you buy. As always, this is storage information only, and the rules around storing firearms vary, so check your own state’s laws.
TRRKO Auto-Open Charging Safe FAQ
What size handgun fits in the TRRKO Auto-Open Charging Safe?
The seller lists an interior of 10.16 by 8.94 by 2.11 inches and says it holds two full-size pistols with magazines. The 2.11-inch height is shallow, so measure your handgun with any light, optic and magazine before ordering, and compare against the listing.
Does the TRRKO safe run on batteries or plug in?
The box includes an AC power adapter, and the wireless charging feature relies on it. The listing facts we have do not describe battery backup or runtime, so check the manual or ask the seller what happens during a power cut. The two backup keys are the fallback.
Can the TRRKO Auto-Open Charging Safe be mounted?
It is described as a tabletop safe with a 3.2-foot steel security cable in the box. No bolt-down holes or wall-mount kit are mentioned, so the cable is the anchoring option. Loop it around something solid if you want theft protection.
What if the fingerprint reader does not recognize me?
The safe also opens with a capacitive touch keypad or one of the two included backup keys. Practice all three methods when you set it up, and store the spare key outside the bedroom and away from children, since fingerprint readers can misread dry or dirty fingers.
Does the TRRKO safe have a fire rating or warranty?
The listing facts do not include a fire rating, so do not treat it as fire protection. The seller describes a five-year warranty and lifetime tech support, but read the exact terms on the Amazon page before relying on them.
FindsCheaper is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

