Barska Biometric Rifle Safe Review: Quick-Access Cabinet
The Barska Biometric Rifle Safe is a tall, floor-standing cabinet for storing up to four long guns behind a fingerprint scanner, with a silent mode, a removable shelf and backup keys. It suits a household that wants quick, key-free access to a few rifles or shotguns and can bolt a cabinet down. It is a poor choice if you want a fire rating, a deep vault with thick walls or a dedicated handgun box. This review is based on the Amazon listing, the seller’s description and general safe-storage knowledge, not on using the product ourselves.
Bottom line:
- Good fit: a quick-access rifle cabinet with fingerprint entry, up to 120 stored prints, silent mode and a five-point locking system.
- Trade-offs: the listing gives no dimensions, steel gauge, weight or fire rating, so you must verify the fit yourself.
- Before buying: it sat in the $300 to $500 range at the time of writing; check the current price and measure your longest firearm.
Barska Biometric Rifle Safe specs at a glance
The structured spec sheet is empty, so the table below uses the title and seller bullets.
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Access | Fingerprint scanner (up to 120 fingerprints), plus backup keys |
| Capacity | Up to 4 rifles; removable shelf |
| Locking | Five-point steel locking mechanism |
| Sound | Silent mode |
| Power | Battery-powered, with a backup battery mentioned in the title; type not stated |
| Installation | Hardware included for mounting |
| Standards claim | Listed as California DOJ approved |
| Dimensions, steel gauge, weight, fire rating | Not stated in the text we reviewed; check the listing |
Access and lock
The primary way in is a fingerprint scanner, and the seller says it can store up to 120 unique prints. That is a large memory, more than most households will ever use, and it means you can register several fingers per person. Registering the same finger more than once, from slightly different angles, is a common way to improve reliability on consumer scanners. The listing also describes rapid access with a silent mode, which turns off the beeps so you can open the cabinet quietly at night.
Backup keys are included as the physical fallback. Biometric scanners can misread a wet, dirty or injured finger, and a battery can run out, so the key is a real safety net. Store it away from the cabinet and out of children’s reach, and not in the nightstand beside it. The listing does not say how many keys come in the box. Our best biometric gun safes guide has more on how fingerprint models compare, and the best rifle safes list covers long-gun cabinets specifically.
Build and security features
The headline feature is a heavy-duty five-point steel locking mechanism. Multiple locking points spread force across the door instead of leaving a single latch as the weak spot, which is generally a better setup for a tall door than one bolt. The listing does not give the steel thickness, door construction or any pry-resistance details, so we cannot compare it numerically with other cabinets.
The product is listed as California DOJ approved. If you live in California, check the current requirement and confirm the approval on the manufacturer’s information, since a single marketing bullet is not enough on its own. Elsewhere, laws on firearm storage and child access vary by state, so check yours. No fire rating is described, so do not count on the cabinet for documents or valuables that you cannot replace.
Think of this as a cabinet that deters children, visitors and opportunistic thieves rather than a high-end burglary safe. Anchoring it properly matters more than any single feature.
Interior and fit
The seller says the interior is designed for rifles, ammunition and accessories, with capacity for up to four rifles, plus a removable shelf for organizing smaller items. The listing does not give the interior depth, width or height, which are the numbers that decide whether your long guns fit. Check three things before buying: the overall length of your longest firearm with its optic, the depth needed for a scope or a light, and whether the shelf leaves enough height beneath it.
A cabinet advertised as holding four rifles usually works best with slimmer bolt-action and standard-sized rifles; heavily accessorized rifles with big scopes or bipods tend to take up more space. Our best gun safe pillar page has capacity-planning advice. If the interior numbers are not on the listing, ask the seller directly.
Mounting and placement
The listing says the safe can be installed in various settings with included hardware, which suggests pre-drilled holes and anchors for floor or wall use. Tall cabinets are the type that tip, so anchoring is important, particularly where children may be around. Bolt it into a wall stud or solid structure and, if possible, to the floor, using hardware suitable for your surface. Our guides to hidden gun safes and rifle safes discuss placement trade-offs.
The product is categorized under both long gun and concealment, so you might place it in a closet or behind a door. Think about heat and humidity near exterior walls and basements, since moisture is bad for firearms. Check the finish and the included hardware when it arrives, and confirm the dimensions fit the spot before you plan the installation.
Power and batteries
The fingerprint scanner requires power, and the title mentions a backup battery as part of the package. The listing does not say which battery type or how long it lasts. Check what the main battery is and how you replace it before relying on the safe, and set a reminder to change it on a schedule. When the battery is low, many electronic safes beep or flash, but silent mode may hide some of those cues, so test the unit regularly. The backup keys are your last resort if the electronics fail.
What owners say
No owner feedback summary was available when we checked, so we are not going to make up themes. As you read the reviews and Q&A on the listing, watch for patterns about:
- How reliably the scanner reads, especially with cold, damp or dirty fingers.
- Whether the interior fits the rifles and optics that buyers actually own.
- The installation experience and whether the included hardware worked.
- Battery life and any trouble with the backup battery or keys.
- Door fit, finish quality and shipping damage.
Watch: a video look
Watch: SKTYube asks whether this quick-access safe is worth it, a good way to see the size and the scanner in action. Treat any video as one reviewer’s view.

Pros and cons
Pros
- Fingerprint access with room for up to 120 prints.
- Holds up to four rifles, with a removable shelf.
- Five-point steel locking mechanism.
- Silent mode and backup keys.
- Installation hardware included and a California DOJ approval claim.
Cons
- Dimensions, steel gauge, weight and fire rating are not listed.
- Battery type and life are not stated in the bullets reviewed.
- Biometric scanners can misread; the key is the only fallback.
- Tall cabinets need solid anchoring to be safe.
How it compares
The closest rival is the KAER 4-5 Gun Biometric Rifle Safe, which publishes more numbers: an exterior of 11.8 x 11 x 54.3 inches and an interior of 11.61 x 8.66 inches in width and depth, with a removable shelf and a lower price band of $200 to $300. If you prefer to hide your long guns, the SnapSafe In-Wall Long Gun Safe is a 44-inch, 16-gauge steel cabinet that installs between wall studs, with an electronic keypad, a key backup and three removable shelves.
For handguns, the Vaultek DS2i Smart Station and the Vaultek Slider NSL2i both combine biometrics with Wi-Fi alerts in much smaller packages, but neither is a rifle cabinet. For brand context, our best gun safe brands page explains where each maker fits.
Price and deals
At the time of writing, this listing sat in the $300 to $500 range. Prices change often, so check today’s price on the Amazon listing. Our Barska Biometric Rifle Safe promo code page explains how coupons and sales work for this model. If you want to see what else fits your budget, check our best gun safes under $500 and under $1,000 guides, or the full A to Z list.
Final verdict
The Barska Biometric Rifle Safe is a reasonable shortlist candidate for a household that wants fingerprint access to up to four long guns, with a silent mode and a five-point lock. The lack of listed dimensions, steel thickness and battery details is the main weakness, and you will need to confirm those before you commit. Child-access prevention and storage laws vary by state, so check yours, and anchor the cabinet securely. If you want published specs, compare the KAER or SnapSafe options first.
Barska Biometric Rifle Safe FAQ
How many guns does the Barska Biometric Rifle Safe hold?
The listing says the interior holds up to four rifles and includes a removable shelf. Exact interior dimensions are not given, so measure your longest firearm with optics attached and ask the seller about depth and height before you order.
How many fingerprints can it store?
The seller says it can store up to 120 unique fingerprints. That allows several fingers per household member. Register each finger more than once from slightly different angles to improve reliability, and keep the backup key available in case the scanner misreads.
What if the fingerprint scanner or battery fails?
The listing says backup keys and a backup battery are included. If the scanner misreads or the power fails, use the key. Keep the key stored securely away from the cabinet, and check the listing or manual for the battery type and replacement steps.
Can I bolt the Barska rifle safe down?
The listing says it can be installed in various settings with included hardware. Because it is a tall cabinet, anchor it to wall studs or solid structure and the floor if you can. Check the product page or manual for the hole locations and recommended fasteners.
Is the Barska Biometric Rifle Safe fire rated?
No fire rating appears in the listing text we reviewed, so do not assume it has one. Treat it as secure storage against children and theft, and keep irreplaceable documents in a separate rated container. Always confirm any rating directly with Barska.
FindsCheaper is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.


One Comment