Best In Wall Gun Safes of 2026: Between-the-Stud Picks Compared

Best In Wall Gun Safes – FindsCheaper

If you want the best in wall gun safe for a standard stud wall, our top pick is the SnapSafe In-Wall Long Gun Safe. It has a 16-gauge steel body, a keypad with key backup, and published interior dimensions that tell you exactly what fits. If you would rather open with a fingerprint, the Langger In-Wall Biometric Long Gun Safe offers fingerprint, PIN and key entry and states the exact wall opening it needs. For the tightest budget in the full-height style, the VEVOR Hidden Wall Gun Safe gives you a code, keys, an alarm and an external emergency power box at a lower price tier.

Not every “wall safe” on Amazon is the same kind of product, though. Some are tall cabinets that sit between the studs. Others are small pistol boxes that bolt to the surface of a wall, desk or nightstand. This guide covers both and says plainly which is which. For a lot of buyers, the first big question is whether you want something hidden inside the wall or just mounted on it.

Quick picks

In-wall gun safes compared

Product Best for Lock/access Fits Mounting/cable
SnapSafe In-Wall Long Gun Safe Hidden long gun storage between studs Electronic keypad, key backup Interior 40.7″ H x 14.13″ W x 3.78″ D, 3 removable shelves Between studs, 6 lag bolts included
Langger In-Wall Biometric Long Gun Safe Fingerprint access in a tall wall unit Fingerprint, PIN, emergency keys Listed at 43.3″ H x 13.75″ W x 4″ D outside, 3 removable shelves Between studs, pre-drilled holes, bolts included
VEVOR Hidden Wall Gun Safe Lower-cost full-height hidden storage Code and keys, external emergency power box 43.3″ high, 3 adjustable shelves, key hooks; check listing for interior size In-wall; check listing for hardware
Omethey In-Wall Biometric Safe The tallest wall safe here, with alarms Fingerprint, password, emergency key, USB battery box 53.15″ H x 15.74″ W x 5.12″ D outside, 3 adjustable shelves Wall mount, 8 expansion screws included
RPNB Wall-Mounted Pistol Safe One handgun on a wall, desk or nightstand Programmable keypad, drop-down drawer Check listing Surface mount from the right, left or top side
ORARAER Smart Charging Gun Safe Bedside storage with a charger and clock Fingerprint, keypad, key Interior 8.86″ D x 7.28″ W x 1.97″ H, 0.25 cu ft Listed as floor mount; check listing for wall use

How we chose

We did not test these safes. We researched them. For each candidate we read the Amazon listing, the specifications table, the seller’s bullet points and the product description. We then compared what each one claims for access methods, backup entry, steel thickness, locking bolts, mounting hardware and interior size. Where a listing contradicts itself, we point that out and tell you what to confirm before you buy. One example is a spec sheet that says “Key” while the bullets describe a keypad. Another is a height in the title that differs from the height in the specs table.

None of these six products had an owner-feedback summary we could draw on when we wrote this, so we do not describe owner sentiment for them. We also checked every brand against recent biometric safe recalls. Fingerprint safes from Awesafe, Bulldog (biometric models), Machir and MouTec were recalled because the fingerprint reader could let unauthorized users, including children, open them. None of those brands appear here, and our biometric gun safe recall guide has the details. Finally, we preferred safes that publish real dimensions. An in-wall safe that doesn’t fit your wall cavity has no value to you, however good its other features are.

1. SnapSafe In-Wall Long Gun Safe: Best Overall

SnapSafe gives the most complete set of numbers of any safe in this group, and that matters when you are cutting into drywall. The listing gives an exterior of 44 inches tall by 16.25 inches wide by 4 inches deep. The interior is 40.7 by 14.13 by 3.78 inches. You can compare the interior figures directly with the length of what you plan to store. Three removable shelves let you split the space between a long gun and smaller items, or take them all out for a tall, open cavity.

The construction is described as a 16-gauge steel body with a 0.15-inch steel door. Access is through an electronic keypad with a key backup, so a dead battery does not lock you out. Be aware that the specs table lists the lock type only as “Key,” while the bullets clearly describe the keypad, so read the current listing carefully. The safe installs between studs with six lag bolts. Batteries are not included. The weight is given as 55 lbs in one place and 61 pounds in another, which suggests the shipping weight differs from the safe’s own weight.

At the time of writing it sat in the $300 to $500 range, the highest tier on this page. Check the current price on the SnapSafe in-wall listing before you decide. Our SnapSafe in-wall review goes into fit and installation in more depth.

  • Pros: Full interior dimensions published; 16-gauge body and 0.15-inch door listed; keypad with key backup; lag bolts and mounting kit included
  • Cons: Highest price tier here; only 3.78 inches of interior depth; no fingerprint option; spec table and bullets disagree on lock type

2. Langger In-Wall Biometric Long Gun Safe: Best Biometric

Langger is the pick for anyone who wants a fingerprint reader on a tall between-the-studs safe. It offers three ways in: a registered fingerprint, a PIN code or the emergency keys. The description mentions two 7/8-inch steel locking deadbolts, which the bullets call motorized. It also has a beep-off setting for quiet opening. The door opens to the right. Think about that before you choose the wall, because a door swinging toward a corner or a door frame can be awkward to reach.

Langger helpfully states the exact wall opening: 43.3 inches high, 13.75 inches wide and 4 inches deep. However, the product title quotes 4 by 15 by 45 inches. Measure against the opening size, and confirm the figures on the current listing before you cut. Three removable shelves come with it, and the safe has pre-drilled mounting holes with the bolts included. It is listed at about 58 pounds.

It sat in the $200 to $300 range when we wrote this, which puts it below SnapSafe while adding biometric entry. Check today’s price on the Langger biometric wall safe, and read our full Langger review for more detail. If fingerprint access is your priority across all safe styles, our best biometric gun safe guide compares more options.

  • Pros: Fingerprint, PIN and key entry; exact wall opening listed; two locking deadbolts described; silent mode
  • Cons: Title and spec dimensions differ; right-opening door only; no published interior dimensions; fingerprint readers need a backup plan if the battery dies

3. VEVOR Hidden Wall Gun Safe: Best Value

VEVOR offers a full-height (43.3-inch) in-wall design in the $100 to $200 range at the time of writing. That is well below the two long gun picks above. The listing describes 0.09-inch carbon steel (Q235 cold-rolled, per the title) and 0.86-inch solid locking bolts. Inside, it has a four-tier layout with three adjustable shelves, key hooks, a strap and a built-in LED light. The light is useful because a recessed cabinet can be dark inside.

Daily access is by code or key. If the key is lost or the battery runs flat, an external power box lets you power the keypad for emergency opening. An alarm sounds after three wrong code attempts or a forceful impact. One caution: the description also mentions fingerprints, but the title and bullets list only password and key. Assume it has no fingerprint reader unless the current listing clearly shows one. The specs table was empty when we checked, so confirm the exterior width and depth, the interior size and the mounting hardware before you plan the cutout.

Look at the current listing on the VEVOR hidden wall safe page, and see our VEVOR wall safe review for the trade-offs.

  • Pros: Lower price tier for a full-height unit; external emergency power; alarm on wrong codes or impact; LED light and key hooks
  • Cons: Empty spec table at the time of writing; listing is inconsistent about fingerprint access; interior dimensions not stated

4. Omethey In-Wall Biometric Safe: Best Tall Option With Alarms

At 53.15 inches tall, the Omethey is the tallest safe in this guide. That height suits anyone who wants room for longer items or for several shelves of documents and valuables in one hidden cavity. The listing describes four unlocking methods. The fingerprint and the password each work with a turn knob. The emergency key is for first use, a forgotten code or a dead battery. The fourth method is USB power through the included emergency battery box. Four solid locking bolts sit on three sides of the door.

It has two alarms. A vibration alarm goes off if someone shakes or moves the cabinet, and an input-error alarm sounds after three wrong codes. Each sounds a buzzer for 30 seconds. There is also a silent mode for quiet everyday access, plus an LED light, a key hook and a magnetic gun support. The listing says it fits between studs on 16-inch centers. Still, check the 15.74-inch width and the 5.12-inch depth against your wall, because a standard 2×4 wall is shallower than that. The seller uses the word “fireproof,” but no fire rating or test standard is listed, so don’t count on fire protection.

It sat in the $100 to $200 range at the time of writing. Check current pricing on the Omethey wall safe listing and read our Omethey in-wall safe review.

  • Pros: Tallest unit here; fingerprint plus three backups; vibration and wrong-code alarms; silent mode
  • Cons: 5.12-inch depth may stick out past a 2×4 wall; “fireproof” claim with no stated rating; shown in white, which may not suit every room

5. RPNB Wall-Mounted Pistol Safe: Best Budget

The RPNB is not an in-wall cabinet. It is a slim, vertical handgun safe that mounts on a surface, and it is one of the most-reviewed safes on Amazon. The listing says you can mount it from the right side, the left side or the top. That lets you fix it to a wall stud, inside a closet, under a desk or beside a nightstand. You get quick wall-mounted access to a single pistol without cutting drywall.

Access is through a programmable electronic keypad with buttons you can press with one hand. A drop-down drawer presents the stored handgun when the safe opens. The body is described as sturdy steel with a corrosion-resistant black finish. The specs table was empty, so check the interior size against your handgun, the type of backup key and the battery type. Some of the description text belongs to other products in the brand store, so rely on the bullets.

It sat in the under $100 range when we wrote this, the lowest tier on the page. Check the current price on the RPNB pistol safe listing and see our RPNB wall-mounted pistol safe review. For more single-handgun options, see our handgun safe guide.

  • Pros: Lowest price tier here; mounts on the right, left or top; drop-down drawer for one-handed access; no wall cutting
  • Cons: Holds one handgun, not long guns; spec table empty; backup entry and interior size need checking

6. ORARAER Smart Charging Gun Safe: Best Compact Hybrid

The ORARAER calls itself a wall safe in its title, but it is mainly a low-profile bedside safe. It measures 12.8 by 9.45 by 3.07 inches outside and 8.86 by 7.28 by 1.97 inches inside, for 0.25 cubic feet. The specs table lists it as “Floor Mount.” If wall mounting is your main goal, confirm on the listing how it fixes to a wall before you buy. Its strength is everyday convenience. It offers fingerprint, keypad and key entry, an LED clock showing time, temperature, humidity and battery status, and wireless charging for compatible phones and watches.

The seller quotes a false acceptance rate of 0.02% or lower and a false rejection rate of 2% or lower for the fingerprint scanner. Holding the “4” key mutes the beeps, and an LED light helps at night. The clock and charger need the adapter connected, so plan for an outlet nearby. With under 2 inches of interior height, it is for one compact handgun and small items.

It sat in the $100 to $200 range at the time of writing. Check today’s price on the ORARAER smart safe and read our ORARAER review. For more bedside safes, see our nightstand gun safe guide.

  • Pros: Three ways in; wireless charging and a clock display; silent mode; full interior dimensions listed
  • Cons: Listed as floor mount; only 1.97 inches of interior height; clock and charger need the adapter plugged in

How to choose an in-wall gun safe

In-wall versus wall-mounted

A true in-wall safe sits in the cavity between two studs, so the door ends up nearly flush with the drywall. A mirror, picture or coat can then hide it. A wall-mounted safe bolts to the surface and stays visible, but you don’t need to cut the wall. If concealment matters most, look at the first four picks here or at our hidden gun safe roundup. If you need fast access to one handgun and can’t cut into a wall, a surface-mount box like the RPNB is the simpler choice.

Measure the wall cavity first

Most US interior walls have studs on 16-inch centers. With standard studs, that leaves roughly 14.5 inches of clear width between them. A 2×4 wall gives about 3.5 inches of stud depth, plus the drywall. That is why the body and flange dimensions on a listing matter so much. A safe advertised as 16 inches wide may include a front flange that overlaps the drywall, with a narrower box behind it, so confirm which figure the listing gives. Before you buy:

  • Find the studs and confirm their spacing with a stud finder.
  • Check for wiring, plumbing and ductwork in the bay. Exterior walls often hold insulation and are usually a poor choice.
  • Compare the listed body width and depth, not just the overall size, with your clear opening.
  • If a safe is deeper than your wall, expect the door to sit proud of the wall unless you build out a frame.
  • Check the door swing so it opens away from corners and door frames.

Our guide to what size gun safe you need can help you plan capacity, and our walkthrough on how to bolt down a gun safe covers anchoring in general.

Lock types and backups

Every pick here includes some form of backup entry, and that matters more for a wall safe than for most others. You can’t tip a wall safe over to reach a battery compartment underneath. Keypads are predictable and work with gloves. Fingerprint readers are faster when they read well, but they need a reliable code or key fallback. If you’re torn between the two, read biometric vs keypad gun safes. Whatever you choose, keep the backup key somewhere secure, and not inside the safe.

Power and batteries

Electronic wall safes run on batteries. A cabinet set into the wall is less convenient to service, so check how each model handles a dead battery. VEVOR uses an external power box, Omethey uses a USB emergency battery box, and SnapSafe and Langger fall back to keys. Change the batteries on a schedule rather than waiting for warning beeps.

Long guns, pistols and price tiers

For long guns, compare the interior height and depth with the firearm itself, optic included, before anything else. SnapSafe publishes its interior figures. For the Langger, VEVOR and Omethey, check the listing or ask the seller. A thin-steel in-wall cabinet is mainly about concealment and keeping children and casual visitors out. It is not a substitute for a heavy freestanding safe. If you need more capacity or armor, see our rifle safe picks and gun cabinet guide, or start at our main gun safe guide. As a rough guide to pricing, the full-height biometric and alarm models here sat in the $100 to $300 range at the time of writing, while the heavier-gauge SnapSafe sat higher. Always check current prices.

Watch: A-1 Locksmith of Texas answers ten common gun safe questions in this general overview, which can help you decide what features matter before you buy.

TOP 10 Gun Safe Questions | We Answer TEN of the Most Popular Safe Questions!
Bottom line: Measure your wall cavity first. Pick SnapSafe if you want published interior dimensions and a heavier gauge, Langger for fingerprint access, or VEVOR to save money. Storage and child-access laws vary by state; check yours.

Best in Wall Gun Safe FAQ

What is the best in wall gun safe between studs?

For most stud walls, the SnapSafe In-Wall Long Gun Safe is our top pick. It publishes full interior dimensions, lists a 16-gauge steel body and installs between studs with six lag bolts. If you want fingerprint access, the Langger lists its exact wall opening. Measure your stud bay and wall depth before buying any of them, and check the current listing for changes.

Will an in wall gun safe fit a standard 2×4 wall?

Often, but not always. A 2×4 wall gives roughly 3.5 inches of stud depth plus drywall, and studs on 16-inch centers leave about 14.5 inches of clear width. A safe that is about 4 inches deep usually works with a slight overlap. Deeper units, such as the 5.12-inch Omethey, may sit proud of the wall unless you build out a frame.

Can an in wall safe hold a rifle or shotgun?

Some can. Tall cabinets such as the SnapSafe, Langger, VEVOR and Omethey are designed for long guns as well as valuables. Interior depth is the limiting factor, because these safes are only about 4 inches deep. Compare the listed interior height and depth with your firearm, including any optic, and confirm the figures with the seller if the listing does not state them.

Are wall mounted pistol safes a good idea?

They work well when you want quick access to one handgun and cannot cut into a wall. A surface-mount box like the RPNB bolts to a stud, desk or nightstand side and opens with a keypad and drop-down drawer. It is visible rather than hidden, so choose a discreet location, anchor it into solid framing, and keep the backup entry method stored securely.

What is the best fireproof wall safe for home use?

None of the in-wall safes in this guide list a recognized fire rating or test standard. One seller uses the word fireproof without stating a rating. Thin-steel cabinets set inside a wood-framed wall are mainly for concealment and access control. If fire protection matters, look for a listed rating on the product page and compare options in our fireproof gun safe guide.

Are biometric in wall safes reliable?

A fingerprint reader can be fast, but it should never be your only way in. Both biometric wall safes here include code and key backups, and Omethey adds a USB emergency battery box. Avoid recalled brands: fingerprint safes from Awesafe, Bulldog (biometric models), Machir and MouTec were recalled because unauthorized users, including children, could open them. Register several fingers and change the batteries regularly.

FindsCheaper is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *